Vanilla Bean Paste

I used to buy vanilla bean paste all the time, it was all I used. Then 2 years ago the price skyrocketed, from $10 a bottle to $35. Also, I can’t buy it anywhere in the city, I’d have to order it online. So add delivery charges on top of that.

I never thought this was something that I would even be able to make myself. This past summer, I decided I would try making my own vanilla extract (I have 2 bottles sitting in the pantry steeping. Then I came across a video showing how to make your own vanilla bean paste. I was so excited. It still cost me more than what I used to pay for 1 bottle, but it’s cheaper than buying it.

This takes about 15 minutes from start to finish.

I used a tiny 4 oz. bottle that I had.

I ordered 5 vanilla beans from Amazon, this cost me $22.50.

In a 1 qt pot, weigh your sugar, corn syrup and water. Do this straight in the pot, in that exact order. Sugar. Corn syrup. Water. Give this a gentle stir, to make sure everything is moistened. Place on the stove over medium low heat (3).

Split your 5 vanilla beans. Once split, using the dull side of your knife, scrape out the seeds, and place into your pot with the sugar mixture. This will take a few minutes, which is why the heat is on medium low.

Once all vanilla beans and seeds are added to the pot, turn up the heat slightly (4) and bring to a boil. Once boiling set a timer for 9 minutes. Stirring often, smushing the vanilla beans down in the sugar mixture, boil for 8 1/2 minutes.

Remove from the heat and carefully remove the vanilla beans from the liquid. Place them into a bowl to be used later.

Let mixture cool for a minute then stir in 2 tsp. Vanilla extract.

Pour into a glass jar and scrape out as much as you can from the pot, you don’t want to waste any of those seeds.

Allow to cool completely and the place the lid on and store in a cool dark place (pantry).

The next day, stir in an additional 2 tsp. of vanilla extract. If you find it still too thick, you can add another tsp. of vanilla extract.

Can be stored for up to 2 years.

As for those vanilla beans, if you haven’t started your own vanilla extract yet, place them into a jar and cover with vodka, rum or bourbon. Shake every day for the first week, then every week thereafter. After 6 months you have homemade vanilla extract. I simply added the vanilla beans to my already started vanilla extract that I started over the summer.

Vanilla Bean Paste

(Makes approx. 4 oz.)

5 vanilla beans, split and seeds scraped out

90 gr. Water

18 gr. Corn syrup

96 gr. Sugar

4 tsp. Vanilla extract, divided

Weigh out sugar, corn syrup and water into a 1 qt pot.

Cook over medium low heat (3).

Split vanilla beans in half and scrape out seeds using the dull side of the knife, placing onto the pot with the sugar mixture.

Once all vanilla beans have been scraped out, turn heat up slightly (4) and bring to a boil. Set timer for 9 minutes and boil, stirring often, smushing vanilla beans into the liquid.

At 8 1/2 minutes remove from the heat.

Carefully remove the vanilla beans from the liquid and place in a bowl.

Allow to cool for 1 minute and then stir in 2 tsp. Vanilla extract.

Pour mixture into a glass jar, making sure to scrape the pot out very well as you want to get as much as you can from the pot.

Allow to cool completely uncovered. Once cool, place lid on jar and store in a cool dry place.

The next day, stir in another 2 tsp. Vanilla extract. If you feel it is still too thick, you can add another tsp. Vanilla extract.

Store in pantry for up to 2 years.

Place vanilla beans which were removed from the paste into a separate jar and cover with vodka, rum or Bourbon. Give this a shake every day for a week, then once a week after that. Store in pantry for 6 months before using. This can be kept indefinitely.

Leave a comment