Mini Dutch Baby Pancakes


Honestly, I have never had a Dutch Baby pancake before making them.  I’ve seen them a lot on TV and on menu’s, but never felt the need to order one or try and make them before.  Mostly because they are so big.  But I’ve solved this problem.  I figured if everything else can be made mini, why not these right?  I was right.  there are tons of variations on the recipe.  This is mine.

First off, start preheating your oven to 450°F.  And grease your muffin tins really well – you don’t want these to stick in the muffin tins.

Then, while the oven is preheating – in your blender, yup, super simple right – place all of the ingredients in this exact order, 1 cup of milk, 6 eggs, 1 tsp vanilla, 1/4 tsp. salt, 3 rounded Tbsp. sugar and 1 cup of flour.  Blend until smooth.  Allow this to rest while the oven continues to preheat.


Once the oven has preheated, quickly blend for a couple of seconds to make sure your batter is well blended.  Then divide the batter evenly between the 24 muffin cups (about 1/2 way full in each cup).  Then place in the oven and bake for 13 to 15 minutes.  I did find that the bottom tray browned more than the top tray – this works in my family as my boys don’t like their food too browned whereas my husband and I prefer our food a little browner.  If you wish for everything to be evenly brown, I would suggest baking the pans separately, as I don’t recommend rotating the pans half way through or for that matter, opening the oven at all during baking.  I only opened the oven at the 13 minute mark to see if they were done.  Mine took about 14 minutes and then they were done.


These, like all of the pancakes I make, can be made in advance and placed in the fridge.  Simply place in a preheated (350°F) oven for about 20 minutes to warm up.  Then serve with your favourite syrup and butter.  Or in my husband’s case, he filled the little divots with sloppy joes and cheese.  Okay, so did I the next day because we had leftovers.

Enjoy!

 

 

Mini Dutch Baby Pancakes

(Makes 24 mini pancakes)

 

1 cup Milk

6 eggs

1 tsp. vanilla

1/4 tsp. salt

3 rounded Tbsp. sugar

1 cup Flour (all purpose)

 

  1. Preheat oven to 450°F.
  2. Grease 2 – 12 cup muffin tins.
  3. Place all ingredients in blender and mix until smooth.
  4. Let rest while oven is preheating.
  5. Pour batter evenly between the 24 cups.
  6. Bake for 13 to 15 minutes, until golden brown.
  7. Remove from oven and allow to cool slightly.
  8. Remove from tin and serve.
One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

