Russian Honey Cake

Okay, I’ve already found my perfect Honey Cake recipe, and well to be honest, on Sunday I was bored.  This is what happens when I’m bored, I bake.  My husband has become accustomed to this happening, so after almost 28 years today, he knows if I start puttering around the house looking at everything, I’m about to bake.

I decided to try and make a Russian Honey Cake.  I used the recipe for the dough from Smitten Kitchen, but instead of dividing the dough into 8, I divided the dough into 12, as I was going to make this a 6″ in diameter cake, not a 9″ cake.

The rest is as she states in her recipe.  You make the dough in a pot, first cooking together the sugar, honey and butter, then adding in the remaining ingredients.  The dough comes together extremely easy.  Luckily I had my husband there with me to help me out with adding in the flour, as it takes a lot of arm power to keep stirring the dough, especially once it starts to thicken up.

Then divide the dough up and roll it out, piece by piece, between two pieces of parchment paper, into very thin sheets of dough.

I used a base from one of my 6″ cheesecake pans to trace out the circles.  Remove the scraps and set them aside, as you need to bake them off afterwards.  I baked my circles for 5 minutes each, 2 at a time, so it took me about 35 minutes in total to bake off all 12 layers of cake.  Then I gathered up the scraps, and rolled them out again until they were nice and thin, cut them into small pieces and laid them out on a sheet pan and baked them off for about 15 to 20 minutes, I wanted these really dried out and crispy (because you need to grind these up for the crumb coating on the outside).

I let the cake layers and the scraps sit out over night to cool and dry out, so they get nice and hard.

The next day I made the filling, this again was really simple.  I read a few different versions of filling, and ended up going with my own.  I know, first time trying this and I’m gonna go out on my own, I figured why not.  I’m not a fan of sour cream, I makes me sick to my stomach, but I do like yogurt.  So I used a tub a really thick Greek yogurt (500 gr/16 oz), 2 cups of powdered sugar, divided, and 1 cup of whipping cream.  And for good measure, I added in some vanilla bean paste.  Whip up your whipping cream, while slowly adding in 1 cup of the powdered sugar, until you get medium peaks, not quite stiff peaks.  Mix the remaining 1 cup of powdered sugar with the yogurt and the vanilla bean paste.  The mix in the whipped cream.

*Here’s the thing, I’ve seen this on almost all recipes, it calls for twice as much sour cream (I used yogurt) as I have used – 32 oz. as opposed to the 16 oz. I used.  They mostly show or state how the filling oozes and goes everywhere and droops.  I didn’t have this problem, most like due to the fact that I only used 1 tub of yogurt and not two.  My filling was thicker and less “oozy” which I think helped when putting this cake together.*

Then I started assembling the cake, I used about 1/4 cup of the filling mixture, maybe a little more, on each layer, spreading to almost the edge, and then placed another layer on top, pressing down gently to press the filling to the edges.  Once all the layers were assembled, I coated the edges first and then the top.

I had a small amount of filling left over, which I could have kept going putting it on the sides, but I was okay with the way it was looking.

Then I took all the scraps of the layers and ground them up in my food processor until they were fine crumbs.  Then I carefully covered the outside of the cake with the crumbs.  I still had about half the crumbs left, so I set these aside.

I covered the cake, carefully, with a layer of plastic wrap, pressing the crumbs into the filling/frosting and then placed the cake in the fridge for 1 hour.  After an hour, I took the cake out of the fridge, removed the plastic wrap and coated the cake again with more crumbs, pressing them carefully into the outside of the cake.  Then I covered it again, with a layer of plastic wrap, pressing it onto the outside of the cake, so I could press the crumbs into the cake.  Then I put the cake back into the fridge for 24 hours.

Now came the moment of truth, what was this cookie/cake type thing going to taste like.  It’s really good!  It has a very mild honey taste, next time I would add a touch of honey to the filling as well.

My biggest test of whether or not this was a good cake is as always my older son, and well, he’s already eaten half of it.  It’s a winner and definitely worth all the work that goes into it.


 

Filling For Russian Honey Cake

500 gr. Greek Yogurt (plain)

2 cups powdered sugar

1 cup whipping cream

1 tsp. vanilla bean paste

1 Tbsp. honey (optional – though I would definitely add this next time)

 

Whip whipping cream while slowly adding in 1 cup of powdered sugar, until medium peaks are reached.

In separate bowl, mix together yogurt, powdered sugar and vanilla bean paste.

Mix together the whipped cream and the yogurt mixture.

Use immediately to fill and coat cake, or place in the fridge until ready to use.

One Comment Add yours

  1. Javy Dreamer says:

    Reblogged this on Recipe Dreams and commented:
    Looks amazing!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

