Fudge

Again, another staple for Christmas baking is fudge.  I believe I started making fudge shortly after my husband and I first moved out together when I was 18.  One of my husband’s friends girlfriend told me just to melt chocolate, pour in a can of sweetened condensed milk and voila – fudge.

Now, my mom used to make fudge when I was little (this is one of the very few things she knew how to make – this and souffle’s).  So I tried out the sweetened condensed milk fudge and well, I was not impressed.  Yes, it was quick and did the trick, but it definitely wasn’t the fudge I remembered growing up.

My mom always used a candy thermometer, something I do not own, so I knew I had to figure out a different way to make fudge that was a little less finicky.  I’m all about cook, time, finish.  I don’t really love having to look for certain temperatures when it comes to baking, I do occasionally, but if I can avoid it, I do.

This fudge is super simple.  No need for thermometers, just a large 5 qt. pot, and a timer.

This is one recipe where you need to have everything ready to go before you even start.  I’m normally running around gathering things while butter is creaming in the mixer, but with this recipe, everything needs to be measured out and waiting to be used before you even start.

In your pot, measure out your sugar, margarine and 160 ml of evaporated milk (they used to sell little tiny cans of evaporated milk, but I don’t see them anymore, so it’s roughly just under 1/2 a can of evaporated milk, so if you want to do a double batch – something I’ve done you can either pour the fudge into two pans, or have really thick fudge!)  Mix this together.


Weigh out your semi-sweet chocolate chips (350 gr. – which is also 1 bag) and 1 jar of Marshmallow fluff/cream (roughly 200 gr.)  And either vanilla or rum extract.  I prefer rum extract, but if you want to use vanilla or heck, peppermint, coconut (and add in shredded coconut), the possibilities are limitless!  Set all of this at the side of your stove so you are ready to go when the time is there.


Over medium heat (5 on my stove) bring the sugar/margarine/evaporated milk mixture to a boil.  You want to continually stir.  I use a wooden spoon with a  flat bottom to ensure I’m scraping the bottom of the pot constantly.  I would not suggest using a silicon/high heat spatula with this – I’ve done this and it gets really hot and I have had my silicone high heat spatula melt.  Had to throw that batch of fudge away.  So definitely use a wooden spoon for this.  Once it comes to a full boil, not just little bubbles here and there, but bubbles everywhere, start timing – 5 minutes.  Stir constantly.  I usually put an oven mitt on my hand to protect myself in case the sugar bubbles and pops.  I’ve had this happen in the past and let me tell you, molten sugar on a hand hurts – badly.  Thankfully my husband was standing right next to me and he could continue to stir the fudge while I dealt with my hand.

At the start of the 5 minutes.
After the 5 minutes.
Once the 5 minutes is up, remove from the heat and dump in the chocolate chips.  Stir until melted.  Then add in the marshmallow fluff/cream and vanilla/rum extract.  Beat until it’s all well blended and no more streaks of marshmallow fluff are seen.


Pour into either a parchment lined pan, or I use a disposable pan that I have lightly sprayed with vegetable oil.  If you use a regular pan, make sure you line it so that you can remove it once it has cooled.


Allow the fudge to cool at room temperature for at least 6 hours.  Before cutting, I would suggest putting the fudge into the fridge for an hour or two, just to chill it down even further and make cutting it up easier.

I do tend to cut my pieces of fudge on the smaller side, as they always go with the cookie trays and baskets that everyone gets at Christmas.


Enjoy!

 

 

Fudge

 

3 cups white sugar

3/4 cup margarine

160 ml evaporated milk

350 gr. semi-sweet chocolate chips

1 jar Marshmallow fluff/cream

1 tsp. vanilla/rum extract

 

  1. Prepare pan.
  2. Measure out ingredients.
  3. Combine sugar, margarine and evaporated milk in 5 quart pot.
  4. Bring to a boil – stirring constantly, over medium heat.
  5. Continue boiling for 5 minutes over medium heat, stirring constantly, as mixture scorches easily.
  6. Remove from heat and stir in chocolate chips until melted.
  7. Add marshmallow fluff/cream and vanilla/rum, beat until well blended and no more streaks of marshmallow can be seen.
  8. Pour into prepared pan.
  9. Cool and cut into squares.

This is what my kitchen table looks like at the end of all my Christmas baking, thankfully my husband takes a lot of it to work for the guys there.

6 Comments Add yours

  1. I have made a lot of fudge but never one with marshmallow added. Sounds awesome. 🌲🌲

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I never would have thought it either, but it’s really good! In fact that whole pan is already gone!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Then I will have to try it for sure. 🙃

        Liked by 1 person

  2. threebrits says:

    We are going to have to try this! We always make fudge at Christmas and love testing new recipes 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Let me know what you think!

      Like

Leave a Reply

