Parmesan Crusted Dinner Buns/Breadsticks

Have I mentioned we eat alot of bread in our house?  

I make bread or buns on a weekly basis, sometimes 2 or 3 times a week.  Although we do buy bread as well, otherwise I would be constantly baking.  We go through at least 1 loaf of bread a day, although I believe it’s more than that.  

A few years ago while my husband was away on a business trip I decided to try and make a dinner for my boys tha we all could eat.  I made these breadsticks to go with our spaghetti dinner and my boys gobbled them up like they had been starving and not eaten for days.  It’s still just the same, every time I make these when we have spaghetti, my boys eat them up that night (by the way these make 24 buns/breadsticks!).  

These can just as easily be buns or breadsticks, depending on the shape you form them.  Sometimes I make them into breadsticks and sometimes I make them into buns, either way they turn out amazing every time.

 

Parmesan Crusted Dinner Buns/Breadsticks

(makes 24)

 

1 1/2 cups warm water (115°F)

2 Tbsp. sugar

1 Tbsp. instant yeast

2 Tbsp. olive oil

4 1/2 cups flour

1 1/2 tsp. salt

 

4 Tbsp melted butter

Freshly grated parmesan cheese (your choice how much you want to use here)

 

  1. Combine water, sugar, oil and yeast in bowl of stand mixer.
  2. Add in flour and salt.
  3. Using the dough hook, knead on speed 3 for 5 to 7 minutes, until the dough forms a smooth ball (or in my case 2 balls?).
  4. Place dough into a bowl that has been sprayed with oil, cover with plastic wrap and place in a warm place (for me this is my oven with the light turned on) and allow to double in size – typically this should take about 1 hour.
  5. When the dough has doubled in size, turn out onto your counter (I don’t normally dust my counter with flour, as I don’t want to add extra flour to the dough, plus when shaping I want a bit of friction so I tend to keep my counter flour free – I do sometimes turn the dough out onto a piece of parchment paper, just for eash of moving it around if I need more room).
  6. Divide the dough into 24 pieces – any way you feel comfortable doing this, it’s up to you, whether you want to weigh out the dough or just eyeball it, it’s fine.
  7. Shape the dough pieces into either buns or breadsticks and place onto a parchment lined baking sheet.  If you are doing breadsticks you may need to use 2 sheet pans for this recipe, but if you are doing buns, 24 should fit nicely onto a baking sheet.
  8. From here you can either cover the pan(s) up and allow to rise once more for another hour, while pre=heating your oven, and bake right away at 350°F, for 15 to 20 minutes.  Or, you can be like me, and place the pan(s) into the fridge to bake off later (either that day or even 1 to 2 days in advance). If you are putting the dough into the fridge, before baking take out of the fridge and allow to come to room temperature – about 1 to 2 hours before baking – and then bake as you would normally.
  9. Before the buns/breadsticks go into the oven, brush with a little melted butter and sprinkle on some grated parmesan cheese.  And then once the buns/breadsticks have been removed from the oven, brush with a bit more melted butter and sprinkle on some more grated parmesan cheese (if you want to).

Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

