Buttermilk Chocolate Chip Muffins

I absolutely hate getting bored, so when I do I start to bake.  My poor husband, like he isn’t busy enough with work, then he comes home and sees what sort of mess I’ve made.  Although he does eat most of what I bake or takes it to work for the guys that work for him as a treat.  

I had a bottle of buttermilk (something I don’t normally have in the house) in the fridge and wanted to use it before it expired in a week, so I decided to whip up some chocolate chip muffins – something I know both of my boys and perhaps my husband would love.  And if I’m being honest I feel better eating a muffin than a cupcake – it’s a psychological thing.  I will tell myself it’s healthier because it’s a muffin – just don’t notice all the chocolate chips in these.


Buttermilk Chocolate Chip Muffins

Makes 12 muffins

2 1/2 cups flour

1 Tbsp. Baking powder

1 tsp. baking soda

1/2 tsp. salt

2 eggs

1 cup buttermilk

1/2 cup vegetable oil

1 tsp. vanilla bean paste

1 cup milk chocolate chips

1/2 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips

  1. Pre-heat oven to 425 degrees F.
  2. In a large bowl, measure out the flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt.  Give this a quick whisk to combine.
  3. In another bowl, whisk together the eggs and sugar.  Add in buttermilk, oil and vanilla.  Whisk to combine.
  4. Add liquid ingredients to dry ingredients and stir to combine.  
  5. Add in chocolate chips (you can use just milk chocolate chips or all semi-sweet, but I definitely prefer a combination of the two).
  6. Spray a 12 cup muffin tin with baking spray – make sure it’s well greased to ensure no sticking.
  7. Divide batter between the 12 cups.
  8. Bake for 5 minutes.
  9. Reduce oven temperate to 375 degrees F.  Also, rotate pan.  Bake for 14 minutes.
  10. Rotate pan once more and bake for an additional 10 minutes, until golden brown on top.
  11. Remove from the oven and allow to cool for 10 minutes and then remove to a cooling rack.

Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

