“Wonder” Bread 

Okay, so we go through a lot of bread around here.  With my husband and both of our boys working full time outside the home (I work from home – yay me!) they each make at least 2 sandwiches for lunch, plus breakfast and whatever late night snacks they have.  Honestly we can go through a loaf of bread every day.  I try to keep up with the madness, but sometimes it’s really just cheaper to buy bread, especially when it’s on sale and then throw it into the freezer.  

I used to make this bread in our bread machine, something that’s now just taking up space in my pantry and should probably get donated to the Kidney Foundation the next time they call for donations.  

I hadn’t really done a lot of baking this summer, as we were busy getting our house a lot more de-cluttered.  Let’s just say after several (over 10) trips to the dump, and 3 separate donations to the Kidney Foundation with over 10 bags of clothes (seriously we had two closets full of old winter coats from when our boys were little – what is wrong with us?) we finally are close to being done.  Not done yet, but closing in on being done.  We still need to finally kick ourselves in the butt and go purchase new family room furniture.  Ours has seen better days – 16 years of being used as launching pads for two boys and all of their friends has taken it’s toll.  That is something we will be doing before Christmas – because right now if I sit down on the couches I can’t get up, it’s like sitting on the floor.  

My husband had big plans to overhaul our back yard, and figured he could get this done in our first week off at the beginning of summer.  Well, he managed to tear our entire back yard apart, only to get sick and then leave the back yard a huge mud pit for several weeks.  This caused my allergies and eczema to flare up worse than it’s been in over 20 years.  Then I ended up grabbing the wrong thing, thinking it was my cream when in actual fact it was body wash and burned both my arms so bad I couldn’t really do anything for about 3 weeks.  I felt so stupid.  

But now that I’m back to normal, our back yard is finally back to where it should be (we finally have a lawn back there again after over a decade of our yard looking like an amusement park with either a pool or trampoline back there) and the house is getting more organized and cleaned out, I’m finally getting back into baking.

So today I figured I would whip up some sub buns using my “Wonder” bread recipe.  This recipe is everywhere on the internet.  The only thing I do different is add a little more water, as it’s drier where I am and I definitely need more water.  But other than that, you can simply look up Wonderbread recipe and get tons of different sites with the same recipe.

If you want to make this in your bread machine, simply put everything in, in the order that they are listed in the recipe.  I did this in my stand mixer and just dumped everything in.  The only thing I did different is I softened the butter, which is something I wouldn’t have done if I was using my bread machine.  

Start off with 1 1/2 cups warm water.


2 Tbsp. Butter, softened and cut up into small pieces.


Add in your salt, sugar, powdered milk, flour, potato flakes and instant yeast.


This is essentially the same order that you would use if putting everything into your bread machine.  

Then turn your stand mixer on speed 2 for 2 minutes and speed 3 for 3 minutes.  The knead by hand for about a minute and place into a greased bowl, turning to make sure it is coated all over so it doesn’t dry out, cover with plastic wrap and place in a warm spot for 1 to 2 hours (mine took 1 1/2 hours because it’s gotten cold here – we have snow on the ground already) until doubled in size.


Now it’s time to decide if you want to make a loaf of bread, buns or in my case, sub buns.   I divided the dough into 8 pieces (yes I weighed them out so they were all the same weight – I have an issue), and rolled them into long “snakes” and placed them on to a parchment lined baking sheet, covered them with plastic wrap and allowed them to rise again for 1 hour in a warm place.


About 1/2 way through the final rising, start to pre-heat your oven to 350 degrees F.

Once the dough has risen nicely, bake for approximately 25 to 45 minutes, depending on what your making (25 minutes for buns or sub buns and 45 minutes for bread).  Just to make sure they are baked, you can check the internal temperature before taking them out of the oven, it should read at least 120 degrees F.    The remove from the oven and allow to cool on a cooling rack.


These make a great sandwich and for picky kids who love Wonderbread and it’s soft texture, this will definitely make them very happy!
Wonder Bread

Makes 1 – 2 lbs. loaf/24 buns/8 sub buns
1 1/2 cups warm water

2 Tbsp. Butter, cut into small pieces (room temperature)

1/4 cup plus 1 Tbsp. Sugar

2 tsp. salt

1/4 cup powdered milk

1/4 cup instant potato flakes

4 cups flour

1 Tbsp. Instant (bread machine) yeast

  1. In the bowl of your stand mixer, add in all ingredients, in the order listed (I like to keep the yeast and salt away from each other until things are mixed together).
  2. Using the dough hook, turn your mixer on to speed 2 for 2 minutes, the turn the speed up to speed 3 for 3 minutes.
  3. Remove dough from mixer bowl and knead by hand for one minute, shape into a ball and place into a well greased bowl, turning to coat on all sides and cover with plastic wrap.  Place in a warm place for 1 to 2 hours until doubled in size.
  4. Punch dough down, and either shape into a loaf, divide into 24 buns or 8 large sub buns, place on parchment paper lined baking sheet, cover with plastic wrap and allow to rise for 1 hour.  (If making a loaf of bread, lightly grease the loaf pan).
  5. Half way through the final rise, pre-heat oven to 350 degrees F.
  6. Bake the loaf of bread for 45 minutes, and the buns for approx. 25 minutes.  To ensure they are done correctly, check the internal temperature with an instant read thermometer – it should read 120 degrees F.
  7. Allow to cool on a cooling rack.  If you want the crust to be softer, brush with some softened butter when the bread comes out of the oven.  (I don’t do this, as I find the top crust is quite soft anyway). 
  8. Can be stored in a ziploc bag for 4 to 5 days (if it lasts that long).
2 Comments Add yours

  1. Awesome. I have been looking for this one for a while, but tried and tested and also not havibg a breadmachine I love it. Thanks for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You are very welcome. It really is a perfect bread recipe.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

