Oreos

Okay, who doesn’t love Oreos?  No one?  I didn’t think so.  My older son is addicted.  We always buy them when they are on sale so we have at least 2 or 3 bags of them in our house at all times.  It’s a problem really.  Sometimes I buy them from Costco so I can get them in the supersized apocolypse world ending bag.  He really does have a sweet tooth (not that I’m complaining about this, because if he didn’t I would weigh about 3,000 lbs by now – seriously someone needs to eat the stuff I bake).

I had never once thought of making Oreos myself, it just wasn’t something that I had even thought possible.  I mean why make something that’s so perfect and ready made right?  Then I was reading a post on one of the blogs that I follow (Needs Baked) about homemade Oreos.  Well, I have been meaning to do this for a long time now, and over the weekend (it was Thanksgiving up here in Canada so it was a long weekend) I decided I would give it a go.

First I want to say, these were so easy to make and also, sooooo good.  I actually ended up making a double batch of the original recipe (Smitten Kitchen) and I did use her suggestion to cut back on the sugar in the cookie recipe from 1 1/2 cups to 1 cup (although I did make a double batch so I ended up using 2 cups in total.

And as always, I had my wonderful husband to help me out.  I decided to do this over a couple of days, just so I wasn’t bored the next day and decided to do something else as well, because my husband does all the dishes (so lucky to have this guy!) and he’s never too thrilled when he comes home from work and sees a pile of dishes and looks and me says “what did you bake this time?”.   So I whipped up the cookie dough and then using a very small scoop, divided the dough into tiny little balls and then flattened them slightly, placed them onto a parchment lined baking sheet, covered them with plastic wrap and put them into the fridge over night.

The next day I started out by baking off the cookies, two sheets at a time, rotating the pans 180° and moving them from top to bottom and bottom to top in the oven, to ensure even baking.  I baked my pans of cookies for 10 minutes each, although I do know the recipe says 9 minutes.  I went with 10, just so I could keep a good flow going.

I allowed the cookies to cool for 5 minutes on the pans and then transferred them to a cooling rack.

Once all the cookies were baked, I whipped up the filling.  The only thing I did different to the original filling recipe was I added all butter, as I’m not a huge fan of shortening and I do not keep it in my house.  Also, I had to add about 4 tsp. of milk to get the filling whipped up properly and pipeable.  I also tinted the filling orange, because it is closing in on Halloween and we do have snow on the ground now – yes, we go from summer to winter in the blink of an eye around here.  There’s no such thing as fall, if you blink you miss it.

With the double batch, I ended up with 64 sandwich cookies.  Needless to say, I have a very happy 22 year old.  Also, my husband took a bunch to work for the guys there, so they should all be very happy as well.


I will definitely be adding this to my Christmas cookie list as something new to add, as they were just too easy to whip up.  Loved this idea and so grateful to have gotten the idea.  Thanks Carl!!

5 Comments Add yours

  1. I nominated you for The Versatile Blogger Award! If you have accepted this award already, just ignore, but here is the post:
    https://cookandenjoyrecipes.wordpress.com/2016/10/14/the-versatile-blogger-award/

    Like

  2. You have a lucky son!! This is such a fun idea!! And I do think somehow Oreos are addicting. My daughters office went on line and ordered 1 package of every single flavor of Oreo (there’s a bunch of them!!) and had a taste testing. The chocolate coasted ones won, with the originals a close second! Beautiful post! (and I have a dish washing husband too– love that guys!) Happy baking Cheri!! xox

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That sounds like so much fun. If my son wasn’t allergic to nuts (something we just found out this summer, we just always thought he didn’t like them, turns out he’s actually allergic) this is something I would love to try. Eating as many Oreos as possible just sounds great.

      Like

      1. OH– we have a peanut allergy in our family. You just have to be careful, don’t you Cheri. Fun to read through your inventive blog! xox

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

