Mini Bacon Gruyere Frittatas


We absolutely love having breakfast for dinner around here.  I try and make these when we have my in-laws over for brunch, but I had never made them for when we have breakfast for dinner, as I usually focus on pancakes and crepes.  

I still had half a block of Gruyere in the fridge from this past weekend when my in-laws were over for brunch, so I told my husband I would whip up another batch of these (they were all eaten and no leftovers on the weekend).  

I started by baking off a package of bacon.  I had never baked bacon before, but now that I have this is the way I’m going to be making bacon from now on.  It’s so easy and I’m really not sure why I never tried this before.  Although every recipe (if that’s what you can call it) said to bake at 400 degrees F for 15 minutes.  Hahahaha, oh that’s so funny.  It took me about 30 minutes, I did flip the bacon at 15 minutes to make sure it got evenly cooked on both sides (no undercooked bottom side for me).

Today this would have gone so much easier if I had had eggs.  Well, I had eggs, but apparently 3 of them decided to glue themselves into the egg carton and refused to let go.  So I had to wait for my husband to get home from work and literally bring home the eggs (I already had the bacon, but he did bring that home the other day!).  

Start by pre-heating your oven to 375 degrees F.

Measure out your spices (salt, pepper, onion powder and parsley).  Crack 8 eggs into a large bowl, pour in 1/2 cup of milk and add in a few dashes of hot sauce (totally optional).  Toss in the spices and whisk everything together.


Using a mini muffin tin (the one with 24 holes) spray with oil every well, you don’t want these to stick, and then evenly divide your chopped up bacon (6 pieces chopped up tiny), leave a little extra left over to sprinkle on top before it goes into the oven.


Then divide up the grated Gruyere cheese (I used my husband and all his “man strength” to grate more while I whisked the eggs together) evenly between the muffin tin – again leaving a little extra to sprinkle on top before it goes into the oven.


And then pour the egg mixture evenly between the 24 muffin cups.


I placed my muffin tin onto a baking sheet, just to make it easier to move around and spin in the oven.  Then bake for 25 to 30 minutes, turning the pan around half way through to ensure even cooking.

Once you remove them from the oven, using a knife or offset spatula, remove the frittatas from the pan and place on a serving plate.  


Enjoy warm from the oven or even room temperature.  Also, they can be stored in the fridge for a couple of days and reheated in the microwave for a few seconds (this depends on how strong your microwave is as to how long they will take to reheat).

Mini Bacon Gruyere Frittatas

Makes 24 mini frittatas

8 eggs

1/2 cup milk

3/4 tsp salt

1 tsp pepper

1 1/2 tsp onion powder

1 tsp parsley

3 dashes hot sauce, optional

6 slices bacon, cooked and chopped

1/2 cup grated Gruyere

  1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees F.
  2. Spray mini muffin tin with oil.
  3. In a bowl, whisk together eggs, milk and spices.
  4. Divide chopped bacon and Gruyere between the 24 mini muffin cups (reserve a little to sprinkle on top).
  5. Pour egg mixture evenly between the 24 mini muffin cups.
  6. Sprinkle reserved bacon and cheese over the top.
  7. Bake for 25 to 30 minutes, turning the pan half way through to ensure even baking.
  8. Remove from the oven and using a knife or offset spatula, remove frittatas from pan.
  9. Enjoy warm from the oven or room temperature.
  10. Can be stored in the fridge for a few days and reheated in the microwave.
7 Comments Add yours

  1. Cherie– these look super delicious! I’ve tried to cook bacon in the oven before (especially when the whole family is here and I’m doing a lot of bacon) but it always takes longer than i think it should! I need to get it down– because you’re right it’s so much easier. — And- hope you are looking forward to a delicious Thanksgiving with family/friends. Are you the cook?? Gong to someone’s house?? Hope it’s a wonderful day for you…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much. It takes me about 30 minutes to cook the bacon at 400 degrees F, flipping it after about 15 minutes to make sure it gets cooked evenly. I absolutely love cooking it this way and have finally convinced my husband it’s the best way to cook bacon.

      I always am the cook at our dinners, after years of going to my mothers and I finally decided to stay home with my husband and sons and started about 5 years ago just having dinners with the four of us. So much easier and a lot less stress.

      We actually live in Canada, so we had our Thanksgiving dinner last month, but seeing as my birthday is on Tuesday I will be doing something this week.

      I hope you and your family have a wonderful Thanksgiving!

      Like

      1. Hi Cherie! Yep, sometimes simpler is better. And happy birthday! Hope it’s a sweet one– and you have a wonderful year ahead… xo

        Liked by 1 person

  2. These look super good! I’ve never had frittata before but I’ve seen Giada on food network make it ..definitely should try! ๐Ÿ™‚ Also I really like your site great layout and pictures ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much! These are sooooo good, and you can make them in advance and then just reheat them, which makes it great for when you are having company over, so you’re not spending all of your time in the kitchen.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Of course! ๐Ÿ™‚ They look awesome! That is a really good idea I will definitely have to try them out ๐Ÿ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

