Sloppy Joe’s

I was watching some cooking show a couple of weeks ago and they were making Sloppy Joe’s.  I sent my husband a text and told him to bring home ground beef.   I had no clue what else went into making them, I just knew that’s what I wanted for dinner.   I looked at a few recipes online, and picked a bit from each, because I really hate using those prepackaged mixes if I can help it.

I had to send my husband a few more texts to get the rest of what I needed, as I kept forgetting things.   I do that, I really need to start making lists.   You should see me in the grocery store!   If you ever see a crazy lady yelling at herself, that’s probably me, because I will be in line to start unloading the groceries and realize I forgot bread, then go get the bread only to realize I should of grabbed buns too, so back I go.   If anything grocery shopping is an incredible workout for me.   

So, in the end this is the recipe that I concocted and it was a huge hit with all my ‘boys’.  

Start off with 1 lbs. of ground beef (we used extra lean), and fry this up till it starts to get nice and crispy.



While the ground beef is frying up, get your spices and liquids ready.

Here’s the cast of characters (spices):  brown sugar, onion powder, chilli powder, cinnamon, salt and pepper.


And the liquids:  ketchup, beef broth, hot sauce and Worcestershire sauce.


Once the ground beef is nice and browned and crispy, drain off the excess fat if you have a lot.  Then add in your liquids and spices and mix together.


Let this cook over medium heat, stirring occasionally, until thickened and reduced to a sticky, sloppy mess.
** this recipe makes enough for myself and my husband and 2 sons, but it probably could feed more if it weren’t for the fact I have to feed 3 men.  It also reheats really well.
SLOPPY JOE’S


1 lbs. ground beef

1 1/4 cup beef broth

3/4 cup ketchup

1 tbsp. Brown sugar

2 tsp. Onion powder

1 tsp. Chili powder

1/2 tsp. Cinnamon

1/2 tsp. Pepper

1/4 tsp. Salt
Hamburger buns

Cheese (optional)

  1. Fry ground beef until browned and starting to get crispy.
  2. Add in remaining ingredients (not the hamburger buns though).
  3. Cook over medium heat until liquids are reduced and thickened to desired consistency.
  4. Scoop onto hamburger buns and top any way you like (I prefer a slice of cheese)

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

