Potato Bacon Poppers

There’s no real story behind these other than I saw something similar on Facebook, so I decided to alter it slightly and whip these up.

Warning:  these are extremely addictive.  I just pulled these out of the oven and they’re almost gone, my husband cannot stop eating them.  You’ve been warned!

Potato Bacon Poppers



1 pkg. instant mashed potatoes, with the ingredients listed to make them (1 1/2 cups water, 2 tbsp. Margarine, pinch of salt, 1/2 cup milk)

4-6 strips of bacon, cooked and crumbled

1 tsp. Black pepper

1 tsp. Onion powder

1/3  to 1/2 cup freshly grated Parmesan cheese.

Pinch of salt

  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees F.
  2. Make the mashed potatoes according to directions on the package.   The box we buy has 2 pouches, and you only need one for this recipe.  (*if you have leftover mashed potatoes you need about 2 cups total)
  3. Let the mashed potatoes cool down while you fry up the bacon.  (You can cook up the bacon any which way you like, I prefer to chop up the bacon before cooking it up, but it’s up to you, just get it crispy.
  4. Grate your Parmesan cheese.
  5. Mix everything together in the pot you made the mashed potatoes in (I feel good knowing I saved my husband a bowl to clean up, it’s my good deed for the day!)
  6. Using a mini muffin tin (the one with 24 divots), spray the pan very well with oil.   I mean get it really well greased or these babies will stick to the pan and you will never, never get them out.
  7. Then divide the mashed potatoes evenly between the 24 cups, no need to flatten them, they do that in the oven.
  8. Pop them in the oven and bake for 35 minutes, Turing the pan half way through the cooking time.  
  9. Once you remove them from the oven, using a small knife or I have a small spatula, carefully run it around the edge to loosen them and then turn out onto a cooling rack to cool slightly.
  10. Should you have any left over, you can reheat these in the microwave, but they are definitely best when they are fresh from the oven.

Enjoy!  

5 Comments Add yours

  1. These DO sound addictive Cherie!! What a fun recipe! xo

    Liked by 1 person

    1. They are. I just whipped up a batch as a treat for my husband for when he gets home from work and I’m using all my self control not to eat them all (though I have to admit I’ve had 6 ).

      Like

      1. that made me chuckle– I can see myself doing the same thing. Hope he loved them!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. He did. They’re all gone, all 24 of them.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

