Freezer Food Chronicles- Part 3:  Chicken Soup

Okay, I’m rounding down my week off, filling up my freezer and finishing up with chicken soup.  I usually make this is a smaller batch in my slow cooker, but wanted to make this on a bigger scale and freeze this for us to have on hand.

Start off with a couple of onions, if you want to just chop these up you can, I pureed them, as well I’m a picky eater and I don’t like to see vegetables in my food, but I know I need them in there for flavour.  So I puree.  (I probably could have used more onions, but I only had 2 left, so I ended up adding in a heaped spoon full of onion powder).  Cook these over medium heat in a bit of olive oil.

While the onions are cooking, peel and chop your carrots and cut up your potatoes.  Oh, and try to remember you’re cooking your onions, so don’t let them burn.  Oops, almost, but I caught them just at the right moment, perfectly dark brown.  No burnt bits, yay!

 

A few characters in the soup, is 4 containers of chicken broth, and a large can of crushed tomatoes.  (As well, I fill 2 containers up with water)

And of course, chicken.  We used two rotisserie chickens (my wonderful husband did the duty of pulling all the meat off of the chickens the night before – he’s awesome!).

And of course, seasoning.  Salt and pepper are a given, but for this soup I use parsley and basil.  If you prefer thyme or rosemary I won’t be mad, use whichever seasoning you prefer.

Once the onions are browned, dump everything in to the pot (I used my ginormous 16 quart stock pot again – have I mentioned I love this thing – I bought it at a sale on Boxing Day a few years ago for $50 – best money I have ever spent).  Give everything a good stir and cook over medium low heat until the vegetables are cooked to your liking.  We prefer them more on the softer side, so just go until they are to your liking.

Make sure to taste and adjust the seasoning as you are cooking, just remember as it cooks and reduces the flavours will intensify, so go lightly at first.

Then divide the soup into containers, allow to cool to room temperature and freeze.

When you’re ready to reheat the soup, just pop it into a pot and heat it up, or of course put it into the microwave and enjoy.

 

Chicken Soup

2 to 3 onions, chopped or pureed

2 lbs. carrots, peeled and chopped

2 lbs. potatoes, diced

4 cartons chicken broth, plus 2 cartons of water

1 large can crushed tomatoes

2 rotisserie chickens, meat removed and shredded

Parsley (large palm full)

Basil (to taste – I used 2 palm fulls)

Salt (to taste)

Pepper (to taste)

Olive Oil  – splash – to cook the onions in

Onion powder (I added some onion powder as I felt the soup needed more onion flavour – completely optional)

 

  1. Peel and puree onions.  Cook over medium heat until brown.
  2. Peel and chop carrots.
  3. Dice potatoes.
  4. Pull the chicken meat from the chickens (can be done the night before for ease).
  5. Once onions are browned, add in the remaining ingredients and cook until vegetables are done to desired tenderness.
  6. Allow to cool and place in freezer containers.
  7. To reheat – either place in a pot and reheat or place in microwave.
Leave a Reply

