Raspberry Cheesecake Cake

  

My husband has this friend who he has known for a very long time, and he asked if I could make a birthday cake for his grandmother for her 88th birthday.   He actually wanted me to make a carved 88 cake, but I’m not that skilled.   I told him I would figure out something to make.  

I’ve seen these cakes for a while now and so this was my excuse to finally try it out.  It was actually really easy to do.   

First up I made the cake (my usual cake mix, with an added pudding mix, 4 eggs, 1 cup of water and 1/4 cup oil – this makes for a firmer pound cake) about a week earlier and wrapped them up and froze them.   

The day before assembly I made the cheesecake.  I used my cheesecake recipe (egg nog cheesecake, just substitute the egg nog for whipping cream) but omitted the crust.  Make sure you line the bottom of your pan with parchment paper to ensure it doesn’t stick to the bottom of the pan.   I actually used cake pans so there was no chance of water leaking into the cheesecake while it was baking in the water bath.  Allow the cheesecake to cool to room temperature and then chill overnight in the fridge.  

The day of assembly I started with the Swiss meringue buttercream.   I actually took pictures this time.   Get a small pot of water on the stove to a simmer.   Separate 10 eggs, placing the whites in the bowl of you stand mixer.

  
Add in 2 1/2 cups sugar and a pinch of salt and whisk this together.

   
 
Place your mixing bowl over your pot if simmer water and whisk constantly for 5 to 6 minutes.  You will know it has heated up suffiently when you rub a bit of the egg white mixture between your fingers and it is smooth with no sugar granules present.

  

Place the bowl on your stand mixer and turn to 8, using the whisk attachment and whip for 10 minutes.
  
While the meringue is whipping up, cut up your butter.

   
 
Once the 10 minutes is up, just check to make sure there is no residual heat by touching the side of the bowl.   If it’s still warm there may be too much heat in the meringue and it will melt the butter, so keep whipping till it feels cool.  Then slow down the speed to 4 and start adding in the butter, piece by piece.  If you cut your pieces too big, just give them a bit of a squish as you add them in.

  
As your almost done adding in the butter, you may notice it starts to look curdled, this is normal, just keep whipping.

  
Switch over to the paddle attachment and turn the speed to 3 and add in 1/2 cup of seedless raspberry jam.  I also added in a drop of burgundy food colouring gel, but I’m not sure it did much.

  
  
Next up is the cake.  Time to level, and layer the cake.

   
 
Then I removed the cheesecake from the cake pan.  Run an off set spatula around the edge the turn the pan over onto a plate covered in plastic wrap (this makes it easier to remove the cheesecake from the plate without it tearing, you can simply peel the Saran off the top carefully).

   
   
Now comes assembly.   Start with the bottom layer of cake, give this a thin layer of raspberry jam, then a thin layer of the buttercream.

   
 
Flip this over onto the cheesecake, which is easier than trying to flip the cheesecake onto the cake.

  
Then turn this over and repeat with the top layer of cake, jam and then a thin layer of buttercream and place that on top.

   
 
Now I did  a thin crumb coat of the buttercream.

   
   
Then I decided to try something new that I had seen, Ruffles.   I think it turned out pretty good.

  
This was definitely a lot of work, a lot of individual steps, but the end result was awesome.  

Raspberry Swiss Meringue Buttercream


10 egg whites 

2 1/2 cups sugar

Pinch of salt

3 cups butter

1/2 cup raspberry jam, seedless

Food colouring, optional

  1. Over a pot of simmering water, in you mixing bowl, whisk together egg whites, sugar and salt, until sugar has dissolved, approximately 5 to 6 minutes.
  2. Place mixing bowl on stand mixer and using whisk attachment, whip at speed 8 for 10 minutes.
  3. Turn speed down to 4, slowly add in butter, 1 Tbsp. At a time.
  4. Once all the butter gas been added, continue to whip for another minute, then switch to the paddle attachment and add in the raspberry jam (and food colouring if using).   Beat for an additional minute.
  5. Use immediately, or store in the fridge for up to 2 weeks.  Return to room temperature before using.

Enjoy.

6 Comments Add yours

  1. This is gorgeous!! I’ve seen these cake/cheesecakes too on Pinterest, but have not been brave enough to try them! But you did it! Well done! Maybe I can summon enough courage up to give it a try– we have a couple family birthdays coming up too. thanks for making it looks do-able! beautiful post!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I was really scared at first too, but it was so much easier than I thought. Good luck!

      Like

      1. Thanks for the encouragement! I’ll let you know…

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

