Spätzle 

  

This is the perfect accompaniment to sauerbraten.   My younger sister will eat an entire plate of just spätzle.

I never got my Oma’s recipe for spätzle, this is one of those recipes that while she was still alive we tried to get from her, but she just stated that she couldn’t remember what she all put in it.   I searched recipes and ended up making my own.

This is a super easy recipe to put together, there’s 5 ingredients.   Flour, water, eggs, salt and nutmeg (this is optional, my mom doesn’t put nutmeg in hers, but I prefer it in there).

I do all of this in my stand mixer, which makes my life so easy, but you could do this by hand with a whisk or wooden spoon.   It’s just gonna take some muscle, something I do not have much of.

Start out by weighing out your flour right in your mixing bowl.

  
Then in a small bowl, mix together your eggs, salt and nutmeg.   Give this a quick whisk with a fork.

   
    
 
Pour your egg mixture into your flour and with the paddle attachment, start mixing on low speed.
   

 Slowly start adding in your water.   Start with 1 cup, although you will most likely need more than that (depending on the press you use).  I have a special spätzle press, it’s almost like a food mill but it’s made specifically for spätzle.   If you don’t have a special press, you can use a regular food mill with the plate with the largest holes possible or a colander (not a mesh sieve.).

  
   
 I always know when I have the right consistency by the sound it makes in the mixer.   When I have all the water mixed in, I turn the mixer up to medium/high speed and listen for the flump, flump (yes that’s a technical term, I swear) it makes with the paddle attachment.   This is quick a loose batter, not pancake batter loose, but definitely not bread dough thick.  It should be quite stretchy and tear away from itself.

   
 
Once you have this at the right consistency (I ended up using 1 1/4 cups of water), let this rest while you get your pot of water ready.  I use a large 8 quart pot of water (because unfortunately I do not have a 5 quart pot).   Make sure that the water is salted really well.   Once the water comes to a boil, turn it down slightly and then load up your press with batter.  After the dough has rested you will notice it has relaxed and has become even more stretchy.  This is good.

  
Slowly press your dough into the water.   If you notice the holes are getting clogged, dip your press into the hot water and scape across the holes to clear them.   Do this in smaller batches.   Once the spätzle floats to the top of the water, let it cook for about a minute then scoop into a colander to drain.  Make sure to scrape along the bottom of your pot, as when the spätzle drops in it sinks to the bottom and sometimes sticks. 

   
 
Once your finished, you can eat them right away (although we always make the spätzle in advance and keep it in the fridge and then reheat in a pot of boiling salted water just before we eat on Christmas Day).  You can even freeze the spätzle in freezer bags and then take them straight from the freezer and drop into boiling water to reheat.

  
I have never actually fried my spätzle, although I do know my mom does after a few days.

 

SPÄTZLE 

 

500 gr. Flour

1 tsp. Salt

4 eggs

1/4 tsp. Nutmeg

1 cup water (plus more to get to right consistency)

 

  1. Place flour in mixing bowl.
  2. Mix together eggs, salt and nutmeg.  Add to flour.
  3. With mixer on low speed slowly start adding water to flour/egg mixture.  Once you have added enough water, turn mixer speed up to medium/high (6 on Kitchenaid). And beat the mixture smooth.
  4. Allow mixture to rest while you get your water boiling ,  make sure water is salted well.  Turn the heat down to medium.
  5. Using your spaztle press or colander, press the dough into the simmering water.  Allow the spaztle to float back to the top (they will initially sink to the bottom of the pot) and then cook for an additional minute.
  6. Using a slotted spoon, remove from the water to a colander set over a bowl and repeat with the remaining dough.

 

*If you notice your dough is too thick, simply beat in more water, a little bit at a time.  Alternatively if you find your dough is too thin, simply add in a little more flour, 1 Tbsp. at a time.  This isn’t an exact science, every year depending on the weather and humidity I have to add more or less water, but once you figure out the consistency you need, then you know what to look for.

5 Comments Add yours

  1. auntiedoni says:

    oh my gosh! I got eat that whole thing! LOVE LOVE LOVE spatzle!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah, it’s hard not to dig in right now, but I have to have some control. So I’m making a batch of gingerbread waffles to keep my mind off the spätzle.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. auntiedoni says:

        WHAT?! I must try that! Maybe for New Year’s Day Breakfast… 😉

        Liked by 1 person

      2. They smell amazing. It’s actually a mix I picked up from Williams and Sonoma a few weeks ago with my sister.

        Like

  2. Carl says:

    Mmm, spätzle. Glad to know about the “flump, flump” being a technical term. I say the same kinds of things! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

