Roast Beef

  

I’ve been making roast beef since my husband and I started living together over 25 years ago.   I never realized I’d been doing it all wrong.  It was always a roll of the dice whether it would be over cooked or not.   He always said it tasted good, but I would be very critical of myself that I just couldn’t get it right.  

The first thing I did about a year ago (I know it took me a long time to get here) was buy an oven proof digital thermometer.   This changed so much.   Then came technique.   

First of all, no need to buy a super expensive cut of beef.   Eye of round works amazing.   We buy these at Costco in a double pack.   

Trim off all excess fat, it’s not going to get cooked at a high enough temperature to help, so trim it off as best you can.

  
Preheat your oven to 180 degrees F.   (Yup, it’s a really low oven).  

In a small bowl mix together about 1 tsp salt, 1 tsp ground black pepper and 1 tsp onion powder (If the you want to add garlic powder go ahead).   Rub this mixture over the entire roast.

   
 In a non-stick frying pan, over medium high heat, quickly sear all sides of the roast (it’s not going to brown in the oven that much, so this is where you will get those nice caramelized bits).   

Place the roast on a rack in your roasting pan, and insert the oven proof digital thermometer (I got mine for $15 at Superstore).  Then liberally sprinkle your favorited spice mix on top of the roast (ours is Montreal steak spice). 

  
Pour approximately 4 cups of beef broth or water into the bottom of your roasting pan (you will be using this along with the drippings to make gravy).   

Set your digital thermometer to how you like your roast done.   We like ours to be medium, so we set it for medium rare (I know weird, but there is carry over of heat and the roast will continue to cook after its removed from the oven).   Then just place in the oven and let it cook, depending on the size of your roast it can take anywhere between 4 and 8 hours to cook.  (Now I work from home, so I can easily put the roast in the oven in the early morning on a Tuesday and have roast beef dinner during the week, but if you don’t it’s easily done on the weekend as well.)

Once the roast reaches temperature remove from the oven, tent with foil and let rest for about 30 minutes.   

At this point I usually wrap the roasts up in a double layer of foil and place in the fridge to chill before slicing.  Of course you can just as easily slice and eat it right away.   We have this for a couple days, on sandwiches and for dinner.  

   
 

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Wow this looks amazing!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks. I sort of felt silly that it took me so long to figure out how to get it right, consistently. Bread no problem, cakes and cookies – I got that but roasts were the bane of my existence.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m always timid to cook a roast like this (too many failures)– but you make it seem do-able! It really does look perfectly cooked–pretty pink inside! thanks Cherie!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks. It is extremely doable, just need an oven proof digital thermometer. Then u don’t need to even check on it, just wait for the alarm to warn you it’s almost done.

      Like

      1. Perfect. Thanks Cherie!!

        Like

Leave a Reply

