Peanut Butter

image

With 3 out of the 4 of us in this house absolutely in love with peanut butter, we almost always buy the super sized tub from Costco.   However, every once in a while I decide to make it myself.

This is the first thing I made when I gifted myself my food processor.   It’s so simple to make and you can adjust the amount of salt, oil and honey to suit your own tastes.

Start off with plain peanuts, not salted.   I used to get these in a 500 gram bag, and I didn’t actually notice that the bags are now 600 grams, so it made slightly more peanut butter, not that I’m complaining.

image

Pour these into your food processor and pulse 20 times.

imageimage

Then add in the salt.   I use just under 1 Tbsp. salt, but again if you want less, simply use less.

image

Turn your food processor on and slowly, through the feeder tube, drizzle in between 1/4 and 1/3 cup of vegetable/canola oil.   You want a very neutral oil, so no olive oil here okay.   Let the food processor go for 6 minutes, for a nice smooth peanut butter.   If you want the peanut butter to be more crunchy, obviously cut down on the amount of time in the food processor.   We always go for smooth peanut butter, so I’m not sure how long to tell you to go for crunchy.   I would say if you go too long and you wanted crunchy, perhaps keep some peanuts out at the beginning and then add them back in towards the end, so they don’t get blended up as much.

imageimage

Once the peanut butter has blended for 6 minutes, this is when I add in the honey.   This is completely optional.   I like a bit of sweetness to my peanut butter, but if you don’t want to add it in, it’s not essential.   I don’t have an exact amount that I put in, because I just drizzle it in, give it a couple of pulses to blend it in and then taste it to see if it’s enough.   It is completely “to taste”.   You can easily substitute maple syrup or agave syrup if that’s what you want to use, but we prefer honey.

imageimageimage

This needs to be refrigerated and can be kept for 2 weeks. I’m used to using 500 grams of peanuts, which I normally can fit into a 2 cup container, so that extra 100 grams threw me off a bit.

 

 

Peanut Butter

(makes 2 1/2 cups)

 

600 grams plain peanuts (not salted)

Scant 1 Tbsp. Salt

1/4 to 1/3 cup vegetable oil (this is just personal preference, if you want to use less oil, go for 1/4 cup, but make sure your peanut butter is still smooth – the oil keeps it spreadable while refrigerated, otherwise it will completely firm up and get hard.)

Honey (I have no actual amount for this – it’s just to taste).

  • Place peanuts in the food processor and pulse 20 times (yes, I actually count).
  • Add in the salt, and then turn the food processor on and slowly drizzle in the oil through the feeder tube.
  • Let the food processor run for 6 minutes.
  • Turn the food processor off and drizzle in honey, pulse this to combine.   Give it a quick taste to see if it is how you like it.
  • Pour into container and store in the fridge for up to 2 weeks.
Leave a Reply

