Pizza Buns

image

The weather here has shifted dramatically.  I’m pretty sure it’s still supposed to be summer out, however, on Saturday night we had snow.  It’s been bitterly cold.  I guess this is the price we pay for living in Calgary.  One minute we have a heat wave and the next we’re ushering in winter.  My furnace actually kicked on this weekend, several times.  I’m not impressed at all.

With my vacation time winding down, it gave me one more weekend to get in some baking, and make some treats for my husband and sons.  They prefer the treats with meat in them.

Normally I would buy pizza buns from the grocery store,  but I figured how hard could it be?  Guess what, not hard at all.  If you can make cinnamon rolls, you can make pizza rolls.

Start of with your water (105 to 110°F), honey and yeast.  Let this bloom in your mixing bowl for 10 minutes.

imageimageimage

Once the yeast has bloomed, add in your olive oil, flour and salt.  Mix on speed 3 (Kitchenaid) for 5 minutes.  You won’t get a completely smooth dough, and it will be slightly sticky, but that’s okay.  Place your dough in a well-greased bowl, cover with plastic wrap and allow to rise in a warm place until doubled (approx. 2 hours – it was really cold here, so it might not take you 2 hours, start checking at 1 hour).

imageimageimageimage

Then I divide the dough into 4 equal portions and form them into balls and place on a baking sheet, cover with saran and place them in the fridge over night for a very slow second rise.

imageimage

The next morning, remove the dough from the fridge and allow to rest for approx. 30 minutes.

image

Get your toppings ready.  We keep thing simple, sauce, cheese and pepperoni.

image

Roll out each section of dough on a lightly floured counter.  Make sure to continually rotate the dough to make sure it is not sticking to your counter or your rolling pin.  I didn’t measure how large I rolled the dough out to, it was slightly larger then the width of my rolling pin.  Your going to get 6 buns out of each piece of dough, so no need to roll the dough out that large.

Pepperoni, no cheese for my youngest boy
Pepperoni, no cheese for my youngest boy
Plain cheese for me - I'd like to say I like things simple, but I'm picky. I'll admit it.
Plain cheese for me – I’d like to say I like things simple, but I’m picky. I’ll admit it.
Pepperoni and cheese for my husband and oldest son.
Pepperoni and cheese for my husband and oldest son.

Once you have everything spread out on the dough, leave one edge clear of sauce and filling, as you roll this up, everything with start to ooze out that end and it will get covered anyway.  Roll this up like you would a cinnamon roll, placing the seam on the bottom.  Cut into 6 equal pieces.

image

Then place on a parchment lined baking sheet.  Give them some room to spread while in the oven.  When I place them on the baking sheet, I give them a little bit of a “smoosh” down, just to help them spread out a bit.

image

Cover them with saran and place in a warm spot to rise for an hour.  Then preheat your oven to 375°F.  You may notice they haven risen that much in an hour (again it was seriously cold here so I didn’t get as much of a rise out of them as I normally do).  If you notice after half an hour they are getting puffy, start to preheat your oven at that point.

This was after an hour of rising, not much change - it was bitterly cold here.
This was after an hour of rising, not much change – it was bitterly cold here.

Bake for approx. 35 to 40 minutes.  They will not get dark brown, more of a light golden brown, but don’t go longer than 40 minutes, as remember there is pizza sauce in these and you don’t want that to burn on the bottom.  Caramelized is tasty, burnt is ruined.

imageimage

This recipe makes 2 dozen pizza buns, which you can easily freeze once they have cooled after baking.  The wrap them individually and all you have to do is pop them in the microwave or the oven to reheat.  They will keep in an air tight container for 4 days on the counter.  Any longer than that I would suggest freezing them.

image

These won’t make it to Wednesday in this house.  My husband and my boys will have these gone by then.

 

Pizza Buns

(makes 2 dozen)

 

1 1/2 cups water (105 to 110°F)

1/2 cup honey

1 Tbsp. active dry yeast

1/2 cup olive oil

4 1/2 cups flour (all purpose)

1 1/2 tsp. salt

 

  1. In the bowl of your stand mixer combine the water, honey and yeast.  Allow this to stand for approx.10 minutes to allow the yeast to bloom.
  2. Add in the olive oil, flour and salt.
  3. Mix on speed 3 (Kitchenaid) for 5 minutes.
  4. Form dough into a ball (it will be slightly sticky) and place in a well greased bowl, turning to coat.  cover the bowl with plastic wrap and place in a warm spot allow dough to rise for 2 hours (start checking at 1 hour, you want the dough to double in size – so if it’s warmer where you are this could happen faster than here).
  5. Once the dough has doubled in size, gentle deflate the dough and divide into 4 equal portions.  Place on a baking sheet lined with parchment paper, or lightly  greased so it doesn’t stick, and cover with plastic wrap and place in the fridge over night.
  6. The next day remove the dough from the fridge and allow to rest for 30 minutes.
  7. Get your topping ingredients ready (sauce, cheese, pepperoni – or whichever topping you would like).
  8. Lightly flour your counter and taking one piece of dough at a time, roll the dough out until it is approx. 12 by 10 inches.
  9. Spread your sauce and topping on top of the dough, leaving a 1 inch strip along the bottom clear.  Starting at the top slowly roll the dough into a long cylinder.
  10. cut the dough into 6 equal portions.  Place these cut side up on a parchment lined baking sheet.
  11. Repeat with the remaining dough.
  12. Cover with plastic wrap and allow to rise for 1 hour in a warm place.
  13. Pre-heat oven to 375°F and bake for approx. 35 to 40 minutes.
  14. Remove to a cooling rack as soon as you take them from the oven, and allow to come to room temperature.
  15. Store in an air tight container on the counter for up to 4 days, or freeze individually wrapped and reheat in the microwave or oven.
3 Comments Add yours

  1. auntiedoni says:

    BINGO! I just made fresh pizza dough yesterday https://mykitcheninthemiddleofthedesert.wordpress.com/2013/01/28/pizza-dont-buy-it-dough/ , although I do use the food processor rather than the stand mixer 😉 I’ll make these buns up as a snack, AND HIDE THEM!! HA!! 😮

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Wow this looks very good! yumm

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

