Steusel Kuchen (Apple)

image

This is one of those recipes that I was just never able to find of my Oma’s after she had passed away.  She used to make this when I was little, although later on she stopped making it.  When she made this, she would make a plain one for me (I had a severe aversion to fruit and vegetables) and one for everyone else with plums on it.  I much prefer it will apples or raspberries, but it’s definitely up to you what kind of fruit or not, that you wish to put on here.

I’ve tried several different recipes online and had a hard time finding one that was close to what I remembered.  I’ve sort of mixed and matched and changed a few things, to come close to what I remember.

This is actually yeasted dough base (more brioche style), which is what I remember it being like (although who knows really, seeing as I have no recipe to go by).

I found a recipe that actually makes so much dough, it made 2 cakes (so one is in the freezer for a later date).  I have halved the recipe to make it easier, as I’m not really sure anyone needs that much cake, unless of course you’re making this for a large crowd, but at my house it’s me and my oldest son that are willing to eat cake and of course, my dad.  Who has already dropped by and picked up his portion of cake.

I also love the streusel topping on the cake, more so than the actual cake itself, so the topping in proportion to the cake is actually quite a lot, so I you don’t want quite so much streusel topping just reduce the amounts.

 

Streusel Kuchen (Apple)

Makes 1 – 9″ square cake (approx. 16 pieces – depending on how big you cut your pieces)

 

Dough:

  • 1 1/2 tsp active dry yeast
  • 1/2 cup warm milk (110°F)
  • 1/4 cup sugar, plus 1 Tbsp sugar (divided)
  • 1 2/3 cups all purpose flour
  • 3/4 tsp salt
  • 1 egg, large
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 6 Tbsp. butter

 

Crumble Topping:

  • 1 1/2 cups flour
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 2 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1 1/2 sticks butter, cold
  • 1 tsp vanilla

 

Fruit Filling:

  • Apple pie filling (or whatever type of filling you wish – or no filling at all)

 

  • Prior to getting your yeast mixture ready, remove your butter from the fridge and cut into tiny pieces (this will allow it to soften slightly)
  • In the bowl of your stand mixer, stir together the milk, yeast and 1 Tbsp. sugar.  Let sit until foamy (approx. 5 to 10 minutes).  **If it does not foam up, start over again.
  • Add in the remaining ingredients (except the butter) and mix until a dough forms (3 minutes).
  • Slowly add in butter and continue to knead for 5 minutes.  The dough will be quite sticky at this point.
  • Place dough in a greased bowl and cover with plastic wrap.  Place in a warm area and allow to rise for 1 hour (you may need up to 1 1/2 hours)  **I always place my yeast doughs in the oven with the light turned on as this is the best environment for my yeast doughs to rise.
  • While the dough is rising, mix together your crumble topping (except the vanilla and butter).  **You can use your stand mixer or a pastry blender if you have one.  No judgements here – I used my stand mixer for this.
  • Slowly add in the butter and vanilla and mix until combined.  You aren’t really going for pea sized bits of butter here.  You really want this to be combined, almost like a dough.
  • Prepare you 9X9 pan, lining with parchment paper (this is a definite must so that you can actually remove the cake from the pan once it is cooked – I absolutely had cutting into a cake in a cake pan – I’m actually lucky as I have square springform pans so I only had to line the bottom with parchment – if you don’t have a square springform pan line the pan with two pieces of parchment crosswise going up all 4 sides so that you can easily lift the cake out once it is cooked and cooled slightly).
  • Once you dough has risen nicely (almost doubled), punch it down.  (At this point if you wanted to you could refrigerate the dough for the next day, which would mean allowing the dough to come to room temperature the next day before proceeding – adding time to the second rise).  This dough is quite soft, so you shouldn’t really need a rolling pin for this.  Just press the dough out into a rough square and place in your pan, pushing it (guiding it) into the corners.
  • Spread your apple pie filing (I used a can of apple pie filling, but if you prefer cherry or raspberry or strawberry use those or none at all).
  • Sprinkle approximately 1 cup of the streusel topping on top of the apple filling and allow this to rise for 30 minutes.
  • After the 30 minute rise, start to pre-heat your oven to 350°F.  (this gives the cake an extra bit of rising time – just in case it needs it).
  • Right before putting the cake in the oven, place the remaining streusel topping on the cake **I just grab handfuls and squeeze to make big clumps, although you can do this however you like
  • Bake the cake for 55 to 65 minutes, you want it to be lightly golden on top.
  • Allow the cake to cool before eating.

**This cake will store in the refrigerator for 5 to 7 days, and is best served warm so simply reheat in the microwave.

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Michael says:

    Do you mind if I peiffer this recipe? Yum!

    Like

    1. I have no problem with that. I hope you love it as much as my family does.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

