Amerikaner cookies

image

 

These cookies were something my Oma would make when I was growing up.  It’s one of the few recipes that I actually have of hers.  I even remember when she was baby-sitting for me, she would make them for my boys.  I’ve made them a few times (although the first time I actually made them I made them wrong – this happens when “someone” gives you incorrect instructions).

These are more like a cake than a cookie and you glaze the under side of the cookie.  Most people would know these as a “Black & White Cookie”, as you can glaze them with chocolate and/or white icing.

 

Amerikaner:

(Makes approx. 20 – 1 Tbsp. of dough each)

 

Dough:

100 gr. margarine (or softened butter)

100 gr. sugar

1 pkg. Dr. Oetker vanilla-sugar

2 eggs

pinch of salt

1 pkg. vanilla pudding mix – instant  (If you can find the German Dr. Oetker vanilla or cream pudding mix – use that)

3 Tbsp. cold milk

250 gr. flour

9 gr. baking powder

Milk – to brush while baking (approx. 2 Tbsp.)

 

Glaze:

100 gr. powdered sugar

1 to 2 Tbsp. water or milk

or

100 gr. powdered sugar

15 gr. cocoa

1 to 2 Tbsp. water or milk

 

Preheat oven to 375°F

For the Dough:

  1. Beat the butter/margarine until fluffy (approx. 3 minutes).
  2. In a small bowl mix together the sugar, vanilla-sugar, salt and pudding powder to combine.  Add to butter/margarine.
  3. Add in eggs, 1 at a time.
  4. Add in milk to combine.
  5. Mix together flour and baking powder (you can sift, but I just use a whisk to combine) and add to butter/sugar/egg mixture.  **This should be a very stiff dough – if not stiff enough add more flour, 1 Tbsp. at a time until you get a stiff dough.
  6. Scoop out onto a parchment lined baking sheet (you can use 2 spoons for this – or a scoop – just depends o what you have).  I used a 1 Tbsp. (15 ml) sized scoop and got 20 cookies out of this.
  7. Bake for 15 to 20 minutes.  **After 10 minutes of baking – brush the cookies with milk and rotate the pans.

Glaze:

  1. While the cookies are cooling slightly, mix together to the powdered sugar and water/milk, until smooth and not overly runny.  Glaze the bottom (flat) side of the cookies and allow the glaze to set.
5 Comments Add yours

  1. Love Amerikaner!
    When you buy them round here (Southern Germany) or make them yourself, they’re actually not cookie-sized. They’re more something like 7″ diameter.
    The idea to make cookies is actually not bad. It’s a more manageable size that way. I’ll have to remember that for next time.

    Like

    1. That’s how my Oma used to make them, they were huge. I just cannot imagine making them the size of my hand.

      Like

      1. I know, I keep looking at mine…
        The little baker’s shop in the village sells Amerikaner. I go there with my little girl nearly every day and she’s never been tempted by them. She usually goes for donuts…
        I so want to try Amerikaner cookies now! But it’s midnight so that’ll have to wait.

        Like

      2. They’re really easy to make and the recipe doesn’t make that many, so it’s like there will be a pile of them laying around. You could also make different glazes for them and make them all different.

        Like

      3. That’s an interesting idea with the different glazes but I think I’d stick to the taditional black and / or white.
        Still haven’t made any though… 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

