Homemade Twix Cookies

image

 

I should probably start off by apologizing for taking so long to post something.  It’s been a few very hectic months for me.  I have worked for the same company for the past 20 years, and working with the same woman for the past 18 years.  Well, she decided to retire as of June 30th and that sort of meant a big change for me as well.  I had to spend a couple of months making sure all of your files were taken care of and then, after working with this company for 20 years, I was transferred to another division.  So I had  spent quite a bit of time being very upset, not really knowing what was going to happen, and now I’m starting a new job.  Still with the same company and I’m not doing what I’ve been doing since I was 17.  It’s been a big adjustment for me, but I’m starting to get the hang of things now and get back into baking, which really is the only thing that keeps my sanity in tact.

This recipe was posted on my Facebook feed by a friend and when I saw it all I could think about were my boys and how much they would probably love these (and yes, my sister too, although she didn’t get any – oops).

The original recipe called for making a shortbread dough, rolling it out and cutting it into circles. I’m not a huge fan of rolling out cookie dough and cutting circles – there’s always waste.   I also wanted to make a brown sugar shortbread cookie to go with this.  So my version differs somewhat from the original.  I did keep the idea for the caramel the same, those Kraft caramels melted with a little evaporated milk works perfectly.

I also decided to pipe the chocolate on top, although you could dip the cookies in the chocolate if you like, but I figured it was easier and less waste if I just piped it.  Also, I kinda like seeing the caramel and cookie underneath.

 

Homemade “Twix” Cookies

(approx. 6 dozen, depending on how thick you slice the dough)

Brown Sugar Shortbread:

  • 1 cup butter – softened
  • 1/2 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup white sugar
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp vanilla or vanilla bean paste
  • 2 cups flour

Caramel:

  • 1 package Kraft caramels (make sure you unwrap them)
  • 2 Tbsp. evaporated milk

Chocolate:

  • 1 pkg. milk chocolate chips – melted

 

  • Cream the butter for approx. 3 minutes.  Add in both sugars and beat for 2 more minutes.  Add in vanilla.
  • On low speed, mix in the flour and salt.  Beat until completely combined and starts to form a ball.
  • Divide the dough into 2 equal portions and wrap in plastic wrap – shaping into a log – and then flatten the log into a rectangle.
  • Refrigerate the dough for 2 hours.
  • Preheat oven to 350°F.
  • Slice the chilled dough into 1/4 inch slices.  Space evenly – giving room for spreading – on a parchment lined baking sheet.
  • Bake for 15 to 18 minutes – until they start to slightly brown around the bottom edges.
  • Allow to cool on the baking sheet for a couple of minutes and then transfer to a cooling rack until completely cool.

For the caramel:

  • Unwrap all caramels and place in a microwave safe bowl.
  • Pour in 2 Tbsp. evaporated milk.
  • Heat on high for 2 minutes, stirring every 30 seconds.  If it doesn’t look completely melted after 2 minutes, leave it for about 10 seconds, give it a stir and go from there.  It should be good to go.
  • **Please note this is going to be EXTREMELY hot, so if you don’t have asbestos hands (which I apparently do not have) maybe use a spoon to drizzle over top of the cookies.**
  • I placed the hot caramel in a piping bag and with oven mitts on my hands, piped the hot caramel over the cookies.  This needs to  be done while the caramel is hot or it will set up and become firm again.

 

  • Once the caramel has set up and cooled on the cookies, again in a microwave safe bowl, in 20 second intervals, melt the chocolate chips, stirring to make sure they don’t burn.
  • Once the chocolate is melted, place in a piping bag or Ziploc bag and cut the corner off and pipe on top of the cookies.

Hopefully you enjoy these as much as my husband, sons and the guys that work with my husband did.

 

**I wanted a firmer shortbread cookie, so there is extra sugar in this recipe.  If you want a more crumbly shortbread cookie, by all means decrease the amount of white sugar.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Carl says:

    I recently went through a similar (although not exactly the same) transition at work. These things can be tough. I wish you the best of luck.

    As for the recipe, I guess I never realized how much Twix are like millionaire’s shortbread. I make millionaire’s shortbread all the time, but I think it’ll be fun to try these as well. Thanks for the recipe!

    Like

    1. I have to admit I’ve never heard of millionaires shortbread so I had to look it up. It’s almost exactly like a Twix bar.

      Like

Leave a Reply

