Crepes

image

I can’t believe it’s been almost a year since I started this blog.  I never figured I would love doing this so much.  It’s still a learning process, sometimes I completely forget to take pictures of things I’m doing (oops), but it’s definitely been a very fun year for me.

With Mother’s Day just around the corner again (and my Anniversary to my husband) it’s time for me to start trying to figure out what I’m going to make for a special dessert.  But before that, comes brunch.  My husband has always brought me breakfast in bed, which is absolutely the best.  However, he’s admittedly (yes he admits this himself) not the best cook in the world.  You know, burnt bacon, cover cooked eggs, pancakes that look more like hockey pucks.  But I love that he goes through all this trouble for me every year.

So this year I thought I would give him a hand by making part of the breakfast myself ahead of time.  One less thing for him to have to try to do and fail at.  I make these crepes quite often in larger batches and then freeze them for our boys to be able to just reheat in the microwave.  (So much better than store-bought pancakes).

Now this is where I apologize, sorry no photos.  I had a migraine headache when I made these and unfortunately there are no photos.  But the process is extremely simple.  No waiting for hours for the batter to sit and rest, this just gets mixed up and cooked.  Super simple and very versatile as well.

You can make these crepes sweet or savory, just by changing some of the ingredients out.  If you want sweet crepes leave them as is, if you want them with a savory dish, simply leave out the sugar and substitute the vegetable oil for olive oil.  If you want to add fresh chopped herbs, toss them in.

These also freeze absolutely great.  Kept in the freezer in a large freezer bag, (freeze on a sheet pan laid out in a single layer and then throw into a freezer bag after they are frozen, so they don’t all stick together) they will last for about 2 months – that being said they don’t usually last that long.  A week maybe?  I don’t know, my boys eat them up pretty quickly.

I tend to fold them in half and then in half again, to get a cute little triangle, but you can easily leave these laid out flat and freeze them that way, but place a piece of parchment or wax paper between the layers so they don’t all freeze together.

This batch makes approximately 24 crepes, which is great for freezing them (they can also be made a day in advance if you are having company over and then just reheat in either the microwave or in a low oven – your choice), but it can easily be cut in half to make only 12 for a breakfast.

 

 

Crepes

(makes approx. 24)

 

1 cup milk

1 cup water

4 eggs

4 Tbsp. sugar

4 Tbsp. vegetable oil (if you want to use melted butter go ahead – I just don’t always have butter on hand, but I always have vegetable oil)

1/2 tsp. salt

2 cups flour (all-purpose – unbleached)

 

Preheat a small (6 to 8″ non-stick) skillet over medium heat (4).

In a medium-sized bowl whisk together the milk, water, eggs, sugar, oil and salt.

While whisking, slowly add in the flour 1/2 cup at a time, making sure you get a smooth batter.  If you have noticeable lumps when all the flour is mixed in, you can strain this to make sure there are no lumps – you don’t want lumps)

Lightly spray (I use cooking spray, but if you want to rub some vegetable oil with a towel in the pan just to make sure nothing sticks) pan and remove any excess oil.

Using a 1/4 cup measure or ladle (I have a small ladle that is 1/4 cup in size) pour this into the hot pan, while swirling the pan continually (not too fast and not too slow, you want it to coat the bottom of the pain before it solidifies).  **It might take a few tries to get this figured out – you may have to adjust your heat on your stove, you want the pan hot, but not so hot that the batter cooks as soon as it goes into the pan, you want some wiggle room so you can swirl it around the pan.

Allow the batter to cook for approximately 1 to 2 minutes (wait for it become opaque (no more shine on top and the edges will start to curl slightly).  Then with a silicone spatula (try not to use a metal spatula on your non-stick pan – my husband does this and wonders why I am forever buying new pans!!!) flip the crepe over and cook for an additional 15 to 30 seconds on the other side.  Flip the crepe back over and slide out onto a cooling rack.

**Place your pan back on the heat to maintain the temperature in the pan**

At this point you can either leave them flat or fold them in half or in quarters.

Once all of your crepes are done, allow them to cool completely and either place in the freezer.  (If you are going to eat them right away, place the pan in a low oven (200°F) to keep the crepes warm while you make the rest.  I only have one small pan and really don’t trust myself to make more than one at a time, so to make the full 24 crepes it takes me about an hour.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Fun to find your crepe recipe– I made them years and years ago, but don’t have the recipe– should give them a try. And hope you have a memorable anniversary!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

