Pumpkin Butter

Other than Christmas, this has to be my favorite time of year.  Everyone celebrates Pumpkin!  Pumpkin Spice latte, pumpkin scone, pumpkin doughnut, more pumpkin pies than anyone could ever hope to consume.  I’m litteraly in heaven.

The first time I ever had pumpkin butter was a few years ago when I purchased an extremely large jar of it from Costco, cause they don’t sell anything human sized.  There was absolutely no way I was going to be able to consume this huge jar before it went bad, which was really unfortunate, because it was just soooo good.  Well, I’ve never seen it again in stores.  So I started making it myself.  (Note:  this is not something you can safely can.  I’ve researched this and it states over and over again that this cannot be safely canned – no worries, I just freeze my in smaller batches.)

Now, I have to state, I prefer my pumpkin butter on the spicy side, so I definitely use a little more of the spices than most people would like, but anyone can easily adjust these to their own liking.  I’m a firm believer that a recipe is just a guide and the “flavourings/spices” should always be “to taste”.

This recipe makes about 5 cups of pumpkin butter, which is a lot, so I separate it into smaller containers and place most of them in the freezer and one in the fridge.

To start with you will need canned pumpkin (a large can – 796 ml or 28 oz.), brown sugar (dark or light), apple juice (yes, I used a juice box, cause it’s exactly the amount I need and well, I have a lot of them in the fridge – my boys don’t drink pop, they would rather have juice) and spices (cinnamon, ginger, nutmeg and cloves or if you don’t have all of these and you have pumpkin pie spice use that).  Also, a pinch of salt.  Oh, and some plastic containers that are freezer safe.

image

Place everything into a 3 quart pot and mix until combined.

imageimage

Then heat over medium heat (5) until it starts to boil (bubble, pop, hiss – you get the idea right?)  Then reduce the heat to medium low (2 1/2) and put a lid on it, unless of course you like to clean for hours on end trying to clean up cooked on pumpkin from everywhere that it splattered.  I’m not that person, so a lid goes on.  (also, I leave the spatula in the pot to vent the lid so steam can escape.

image

This needs to bubble and boil and whatever you want to call it for at least 30 minutes.  I know from experience that this needs to go at least 30 minutes.  After about 15 minutes you might think it looks good enough, but trust me, give it the full 30 minutes.  If after 30 minutes you still want it thicker, keep going. After 30 minutes it will get a lot darker and will be thicker, though this will never really set to firm, but it will become thicker and spreadable, not soupy.  (Remember to stir this every 5 minutes – I usually take it off the heat and allow the sputtering to subside before removing the lid so I don’t make a huge mess, give it a stir, put the lid back on and put it back on the heat).

imageimage

Let this cool for about 5 minutes and then divide this into the containers you are going to use and allow it to come to room temperature.  Store in the fridge for up to 2 weeks or in the freezer for 6 months, though it never lasts that long in this house.

imageimage

This is absolutely amazing on a toasted English muffin.  Now I gotta call my husband and tell him to pick some up on his way home from work.

 

 

Pumpkin Butter (makes approx. 5 cups)

 

1 can pumpkin puree (not pumpkin pie mix) 28 oz./796 ml

1 cup packed brown sugar

1 cup apple juice or 1 apple juice box

2 heaped tsp. ground ginger

2 heaped tsp. cinnamon

1/2 tsp. nutmeg

1 heaped tsp. cloves

Pinch of salt

 

Place all ingredients in a 3 quart sauce pan and mix to combine.

Heat over medium heat until it starts to boil/bubble.

Reduce heat to medium low and cover with a lid (slightly ajar) and cook for 30 minutes, stirring every 5 minutes.

Let cool for approx. 5 minutes and divide into containers.  Allow to come to room temperature and then store in the fridge for up to 2 weeks or place in the freezer for up to 6 months.

6 Comments Add yours

  1. gannonham says:

    I love pumpkin and am excited to give this recipe a try – thank you for sharing. Here’s my latest pumpkin creation: http://sweetseatstreats.wordpress.com/2014/10/26/no-bake-pumpkin-cheesecake/

    Like

    1. I hope you love it as much as I do.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Jodi says:

    We used to make this as a family years ago. I know my hubby would love for me to do again. Thanks for the inspiration Cherie!

    Like

  3. kbandaruk says:

    This looks great! I’ll have to try the recipe. Thanks for sharing!

    Like

    1. You’re very welcome. I hope you love it as much as we do.

      Like

Leave a Reply

